A poster for the upcoming Netflix series 'The 8 Show' / Courtesy of Netflix

Netflix’s new Korean original series “The 8 Show,” starring actors Ryu Jun-yeol and Chun Woo-hee, will debut on May 17.The platform unveiled a teaser video and a poster, Thursday, for the upcoming series with the release date.Directed by Han Jae-rim, the comedy series is based on the popular webtoon “Money Game” and its sequel “Pie Game” by Bae Jin-soo. It follows eight financially struggling individuals taking part in a reality competition for a large sum of money.Trapped in a mysterious eight-story building, the contestants play a perilous game that grows more lucrative with time.

“Under the simple rules, they experience rollercoaster rides of emotions as they repeatedly face cooperation, conflicts and betrayals within a mysterious space divided into eight floors,” Netflix said in a statement.”‘The 8 Show’ (is a webtoon adaptation that) has been made into a new story with filmmaker Han’s stylish and sophisticated directing and gripping storytelling.”Ryu and Chun, along with actors Park Jeong-min, Lee Yul-eum, Park Hae-joon, Lee Joo-young, Moon Jeong-hee and Bae Seong-woo, will play the eight contestants.This will be the series directorial debut of Han, who is known for the thriller period film “The Face Reader” (2013) and the action film 슬롯놀이터 “Emergency Declaration” (2021).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *